Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

Mindfulness Walks| The Market|

Leave a comment

The market down the street from us

Has seen 4 owners; since I first became aware of it

Nearly 20 years ago

The most recent owners were seldom there

It was a family owned business I was told

They appeared from out of nowhere and

Disappeared in the same way

The staff always courteous; friendly; kind

When the most recent change of ownership took place

About 4 years ago right about the time my marriage ended

And we moved down the street

Wait – the owners before the current owners were still there

The shelves were stocked; reasonably fresh produce;

The freezers didn’t leak gallons of water on the linoleum

And the pasty looking guy that always wore Giants t’s still worked there;

But I digress …

I noticed the business hours were changed effective January 2, 2013

First hint of something was happening although I really

Didn’t pay much attention then

The guy with the bald head somewhere in his twenties

With the tat sleeve on his right arm hadn’t been there for a while

He was my favorite clerk

The guy he replaced, Wally, a member of the family, had started

A pizza restaurant somewhere else in San Francisco

A week later when we were walking by

The wallpaper-sized ad inside the wall-sized window

Was gone; and I noticed a sign “everything 20% off”

First sale I’d ever seen in 20 years

Curiosity made me go inside

The most recent new hire wasn’t smiling

He didn’t seem like his typical self

He was being watched by a man seated in a chair by the

Front door

Resembling the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man

In both appearance and intelligence

Very nosy and wearing a black jacket

One large word across the front – SECURITY

I asked the clerk I had come to know

What’s going on?  Who’s that guy?

Referring to the guy wearing the black “Security” jacket

I’ve never ever seen a security guard looking like he did

“He’s from the bank,” my store friend answered

“What do you mean?”

I heard myself ask

The answer was very brief

“I hope when the new owners come I can keep my job.”

I walked outside and a white guy with an odd hat

Followed me out and tried to seem nonchalant

As he asked me questions about the market

More like, how did I feel about the market

Did I go there often things of that nature

After a while of my barely answering his questions White

Hat guy seemed oddly interested in how much liquor the store sold

(was it lacking a liquor license and shut down I wondered)

Also odd the fact he continued to walk down the street with me

as if we were together; or old friends

When he could tell I didn’t know anything

He turned around and headed back towards the store

Today I went back in and asked Stay Puft Marshmallow Man

Still seated next to the front door

What was going on; I didn’t expect him to answer

He answered in such a strange way he led me to believe

The owners were more than just filing bankruptcy

It was an unusual situation

Not sure what that meant

They had 6 businesses; they “sunk” four of them

They weren’t going to be back

(Deported I wondered)

There are so many illegal aliens here now

The angry Stay Puft Marshmallow Man ranted

Taking our jobs away from us

Still I listened

Obama’s making thing worse

(of course, Stay Puft would feel that way

At first I thought  he worked for the bank – maybe an auditor and not a

Security guard; then I realized maybe he was working for someone else

and hoping someone would be returning; highly unlikely)

When I couldn’t stand the hatred in his voice any longer

I left … Hmmm, not sure I’ll ever find out what really happened

Pretty sure I won’t be seeing the owners again; or

Anyone that once worked at the store

that didn’t speak English as their first language

Cindi Silva

1/20/13

tags: occupy| humanity| poetry| best| poetry| blogs| Cindi Silva| Youtube| occupy| poetry| mindfulness walks| zendi4peace|

Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

