Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

microclimate|

Leave a comment

my picture_alameda skating rink_1_13_13The microclimate| continues in San Francisco
and the surrounding Bay Area
30’s or below in the morning
warming up to the 40’s in the afternoon
Unseasonably, unreasonably cold for this part of the country
The sleepy town of Alameda I love to visit
is keeping their holiday ice skating rink open longer this year
I stopped by a sporting goods store in a local mall
A woman was standing by the only dressing room
holding a pair of thermal underwear
She was standing so closely to my face
I knew she wasn’t from California
She started to rip open the tightly sealed
packages using her teeth
She asked me did I see anyone go inside
I saw someone walk in with several pairs of baseball pants
I answered; they also have a restroom here
There was a sense of urgency in her voice
as she motioned to the packages bitten and ripped open
She left maybe 3 inches space between our faces when she spoke
A telltale sign she wasn’t from California
she couldn’t leave the store before putting them on
with a look of desparation in her eyes
Was it from the cold or something else
Again, I told her they had a restroom
She quickly left; I heard her announce loudly;
There is no one back there I need to change now
She brought with her a microclimate of her own to the store

tags: best| Youtube| poetry| blogs|  microclimate| define| San Francisco| bay area| Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| iceskating rink| Alameda|

Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

