Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

Frank Bette| Center for the Arts|

Leave a comment

When I entered the room

I saw Peter sitting in the corner of the room

His smile radiant; he was effervescent

To a degree his enthusiasm was contagious

As many people who have endured great suffering

and lost many of life’s perks

He had risen above it all

His poetry created wonderful imagery

it was filed with hidden mindfulness

and wisdom

Even before we said hello I felt his energy

illluminating the room

Their was a cold chill in the room

Was the ghost of Frank Bette bringing the chill

Was Bette in his workshop with us lisltening, and constructively

criticizing our writing assignments

From the first time we said hello

I felt like we were long lost friends

Some connections are like that

Two kindred spirits

Later he showed us his mushroom tattoo

he received in the 1950’s long before I was born

I asked him the meaning of his tattoo

He told me a girl he loved at the time

also had a matching tattoo and he sweetly

laughed in remembrance of their once special bond

I mentioned that I thought it was funny

when people got their true love’s name

tattooed; especially when the relationship didn’t

work out; I asked him if they were still together

He laughed; I asked him if he knew if she still

had the tattoo; he laughed again

I had my first poetry workshop

a ten minute writing assignment

under pressure

I was in the company of a good friend who came with me

and a room full of poetic souls who love

their art

I enjoyed the evening very much

Especially the smiling man who had learned

to rise above all the human suffering

carrying around his oxygen tank as a reminder

that as long as you’re breathing that’s all

that really matters

and  used it as a beacon to differentiate between what really

matters in life; and the futility of reacting to having your

buttons pushed; and I noticed he seemed to live his life in abundant joy

Cindi Silva

1/10/13

tags: Frank Bette| Center for the Arts| poetry| events| workshops| Alameda| CA} cindisilvapoetr cindysilvapoetry

Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

