Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

A Christmas Carol|

1 Comment

Outside the Curran Theater on Christmas Eve

Yesterday after just watching a spectacular performance of A Christmas Carol at a beautifully preserved ornate art deco theater in San Francisco, Sam Graumann’s gift to the world, my family and I started the very cold walk up a hill back to

our car. We were discussing how amazing the performance was and what we liked about it. I was mostly listening. I thought I saw this as a chance to use this as a teaching lesson (the kind that your oldest child says, “Oh, MOM!)

My oldest child said — “Mom, did you see that!!” My youngest child said everything with his astonished yet beautiful smile.

Up ahead of us A Woman approaching two homeless men standing on the street on this very cold (for San Francisco) day took off her sweater and handed it to one of the men saying, “Merry Christmas.” The astonished man replied, “Thank you. This is a real Christmas present.” The woman now walking away, looked back and said to him, “Merry Christmas!”

We had all just witnessed the true meaning of Christmas, love and giving in the form of a random act of kindness.

I think Charles Dickens would have liked it!

by Cindi Silva
December 25, 2011

tags: Curran Theater| scrooge| A Christmas Carol| San Francisco| homelessness| activism| Christmas| best| poetry| blogs| holiday| Christmas| poems| poetry| currantheater| occupy humanity poetry| Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| Dickens| Christmas Carol| donations| mindfulnesswalks|
Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

One thought on “A Christmas Carol|

  1. A very nice story. Kindness rebirth kindness. Thank you Cindi for your always positive and wise words.

Leave a Reply

