Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

Cancer Poetry|

Leave a comment

Another poem for book 2 in my Cancer Poetry Series. Cancer Poetry the first book is now available on Kindle. I wrote this after I walked in the front door after hearing some “interesting” news from my surgeon. “Interesting” was her word. I tried to get her to define “Interesting” and she smiled … I will be back by Wednesday. Working on my painting for 100 Thousand Poets for Change and some other

 stuff. Xoxo Much Love, Cindi

Numbness never really goes away
It creeps in slowly
D
E
L
I
B
E
R
A
T
E
L
Y
Into the folds of your skin
Then past
Lodges into the marrow of your chilled bones
you can’t feel it by its nature
just know it is pumping
through your vessels and arteries
a sticky plaque like substance
until it lodges itself deep into the core of your soul
and the recesses of your mind
You then become the walking wounded
Courtesy of your own mind
And the news you just heard
But aren’t yet able to process
Advice; yes!
Get out the blender;
Or the Cuisinart;
Or the Vitamaster (if you’r e really lucky)
It might take all 3 
If you’re not so lucky
And push the “on” button
See if it will help you process
The news a little faster
You’ll know when to stop
When the numbness
D
I
S
A
P
P
E
A
R
S

Cindi Silva 
September 24, 2012

 
 
 
tags: best| Cancer Poetry| blogs| best Cancer Poetry books| best Cancer Poetry Book on Kindle| Kindle Cancer Poetry| cancer poetry| books| Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| Kindle| amazon.com| 
Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

