Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

Same-old| Same-old|

Leave a comment

 

 

the day after day

same-old same-old

and promises that once rang true

 

the white haired woman

back arched

polyester long sleeved shirt

plaid pants

covering her old bones

stands shivering

in the San Francisco summer’s cold wind

I try to offer her my sweater

as I walk near

but realize

I don’t have one to offer

an old man 

walks past me

carrying a sweater

and holds it out to her

wait

he helps her put it on

like he’s done

so many times before

I think I wonder

if one day 

that will be me

I close my eyes 

to see if I can

trade places with her

and see who fills his shoes

but I can’t seem to muster 

the images as I feel the chill run through

 

the day after day

same-old same-old

and promises that once rang true

 

a young father

pushing a stroller

with a 6 month old baby

his daughter sleeps soundly

protected in the environment

he has created for her

swaddled by a blanket

head covered in a soft pink cap

unaware of what the future may bring

I remember 18 years ago 

that cold winter

when my daughter was born

I still feel the happiness

and miracle of being a parent

fast forward to 12 years ago today

the day our son was born

how happy we both were

what happened to you

everyone came to visit

where are they now

I’m fortunate for those who have

remained

 

I’m traveling on a different path now

I’m happy with the changes I’ve made

Sometimes forced to change

but willingly accepting it all

that’s what you have to do right

why am I asking you

you never wanted me to be happy

you still try to inflict pain

that won’t work any more

I’ve proven I can get by without you

new people have come into my life

steadfast and true friends remain

still sometimes I almost miss

 

the day after day

same-old same-old

and promises that once rang true 

 

 

 

 

tags: best| poetry| blogs| cindisilvapoetry| Same-old| day after day| broken promises| divorce| dissolution| poems| Youtube| Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| mindfulness walks| 

Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

