Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

insomnia|

Leave a comment

insomnia|

the clock on the wall

keeps reminding me

I should be lying asleep

tick tock, tick tock

it’s almost 2:00 a.m.

don’t think about them

you’ve done all you could

tick tock, tick tock

the clock on the wall

seems to mock me

with it’s sardonic grin

shadows cast by the light creeping in

tick tock, tick tock

and shadowed crap eating grin

as it was known in my house

when I was nine or ten

tick tock, tick tock

the clock on the wall

becomes bigger than life

and darker than the darkest

star free night

tick tock, tick tock

the clock on the wall

becomes louder

like my heart thumping so loudly

it screams me awake, when I begin to doze

if only for a moment

tick tock, tick tock

how can anyone else

sleep through its noise

it reverberates through the wall

am I the only one who hears

tick tock, tick tock

ah sweet sleep

I long for you each night

please come and quiet this

aching on the wall

tags:   best| poetry| poems| blog| Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| Youtube| tick tock| clock| insomnia| sleepless nights|

Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

