Cindi Silva Poetry

poetry, haiku, prose, writing

invisible man|

Leave a comment

Invisible Man on BART| Car #12
He appeared to look homeless
I think in the late 30′s and early 40′s
we would have called him a hobo|
he like depression| era hobos before him was riding a train
during the current depression we’re in the rails were BART|’s

he had a ponytail, wore glasses
dark indigo jeans
a white t-shirt showing his skinny tattooed arms
now faded by sun’s repeated kisses and atrophying body

he asked for loose change
his right arm stretched out, hand cupped
as he walked up and down the aisle
I didn’t have loose change for him today

I looked at the faces of the other passengers
on BART| Car #12
some of the passengers looked awkward
and seemed to look right through him
I thought I wonder what it would feel like to be an invisible man
while other passengers tried to look invisible themselves

like apparitions or souls if you’d rather; floating in heaven
or purgatory depending on their socioeconomic station
hoping he would look right through them; but he didn’t
he kept walking up and down the car asking for change
enough for a meal

my heart still breaks for him
six hours after seeing him today; I still see his face;
I still hear his voice; does writing about him make him no longer invisible
or will he ride the modern depression BART| rails|
as the Invisible Man|; as sadly his numbers continue to grow

tags: best| poems| poetry| blogs| bart| BART| homeless| hobos| ride trains| trains| car| Youtube| Cindi Silva| Cindy Silva| poetry| invisible man|

Author: Cindi Silva Poetry

I'm an artist, poet, writer, activist and more. I like writing about the ordinary and transforming it to extraordinary, which I think it already is but you may have been to busy to notice. Sometimes I write about politics, love, relationships, and every day strife. If you like my blog, I invite you to follow me. Thanks for stopping by. Peace and great joy to you always! Cindi

Leave a Reply

